Ever felt guilty after accidentally sending meme to a boss or your “Ex”. Oops, this moment happens in everybody’s life. Sometimes we send messages mistakenly due to which either we feel embarrassing or an issue arises. In this article, we will tell you how to unsend a message on Facebook Messenger.
You can take your words back from now. Yes, you heard it right!
Thankfully, Facebook from this moment allows you to delete messages or group chats. After conveying messages you can delete them within a specific time frame i.e. 10 minutes.
A text message deleted will be replaced by a text alerting message for everyone like WhatsApp says “This conversation was deleted.”
Table of Contents - Article Hierarchy
- Delete sent messages of private and group chats.
- Within 10 minutes of sending a message, users can delete a message.
- Messengers unsend feature is available for Android and iOS platforms.
Look at Facebook’s release note:
“Remove a message from a chat thread after it’s been sent. If you accidentally send the wrong photo, incorrect information or message the wrong thread, you can easily correct it by removing the message within ten minutes of sending it.”
Facebook announced this option a few months back probably in the month of April after senior officials of the organization caught by some tech journalist noticed that previously send messages in Messenger strangely vanished. To sought out everything, Facebook decided to retract messages facility.
This appears to be one of the surged Facebook declarations. This announcement by Facebook includes lots of mixed feelings, anyway. There was no option as senior officials were involved in the game. We can understand the motive behind this step.
This new Facebook feature of retracting a note is a brilliant move by the company. Just like WhatsApp Delete Everyone Feature, Facebook Messenger comes with a contracted window within which you can delete or unsent messages. The only difference between the two is that WhatsApp allows you to erase message after an hour or so but in FB Messenger you need to delete the message within ten minutes.
Unsending or Deleting Facebook Messenger Messages:
The unsending feature is super easy. Check it below:
To remove messages:
- Just click on the ‘message’ you want to remove.
- A pop up will appear: Select “Remove for everyone” option.
- An alerting message will show: “You removed a message” in your chat history.
Example: A message sent “I will be reaching your place at 10 am”. Then you thought that you gave a respective time to someone else. Tap on the message and remove it in 10 minutes. An alerting message will show up to the other person in private chat.
If the same is in a group chatting. After deleting point it will show to all the members in the group that you removed a conversation.
This awesome feature is rolled for Android and iOS platforms. All you need is to update Messenger App and get going.
Unsend Messages option came into light when Facebook admitted that it has been secretly deleting messages of the company’s CEO, Mark Zuckerberg via Messenger. And in no time an announcement was made that it will be offered to regular folks as well.
The company kept promises and almost after nine months on Tuesday, Facebook is providing an unsend message option in Messenger for everyone.
Let’s see will this tool form a template and lead to new social communicating habits or vice versa. What do you think? Let us know in the comment section.