When it comes to storing files on Google Drive, most of the files you have on there will be private to you unless you specially go ahead and share it with someone. This is the case with both files as well as folders and it also depends on your sharing settings.
But what if you want to hide a few files even in a shared folder? Well, the process to do so is very simple but it isn’t straightforward. But we will be using a workaround that Google Drive has that lets us hide our files.
This works even when you need to hide folders and the best part is the fact that you don’t have to add any add-ons or extensions. Let’s get started.
Table of Contents - Article Hierarchy
Hide Files in Google Drive
The process, as I mentioned above is quite simple but it is not straightforward. Follow the steps listed below.
- Open Google Drive and then upload the file that you want to hide.
- If you already have a file uploaded on your Drive, then you don’t need to re-upload it again.
- Now that your file has been uploaded, you can directly go to the file and right click on it.
- From the right-click menu, choose Manage Versions.
- Clicking on Manage Versions will open a new pop-up where you will be able to see the versions on the file.
- In the very same pop-up, there will be an option to Upload New Version and you need to click that.
Once you click on Upload New Version, you will be able to upload any other file. It can be another file in the same format or it can be in another format as well. You can upload an image as a new version to a PDF file that you want to hide.
Once the new version of another file has been uploaded, you will be able to access your original file whenever you want by right-clicking the revised version of files and going into Manage Versions.
When you upload a new version of a file on Google Drive, the old version of the file is kept for 30-days or 100 revisions, whichever comes first. So it is important that you change the settings of the hidden file so it will stay in your drive forever.
- Doing that is very simple and you can do it by right-clicking the revised file and then clicking on Manage Versions.
- Once the pop-up opens where you can see the older version of the file, just click on the 3-dots menu.
- A new set of options will show up and here, you need to click on Keep forever.
This small tweak in the settings of the older file will make sure that it is not deleted from your drive after 30 days. The benefits of hiding your file in this way is the fact that you can hide a file in plain sight without anyone knowing how the hidden file in your drive is hidden. Also keep in mind that sharing the revised file with someone won’t show the older version of the file which is very beneficial.